Goseeko blog

What are the powers and functions of Lok Sabha?

by Kusum Joshi

The powers and functions of Lok Sabha are described in the following:

1. Legislation

Lok Sabha’s legislative powers and functions extend to all subjects on the Union List and Simultaneous List. In case of emergency, its jurisdiction may be extended to the list of states. A bill cannot become a law unless Lok Sabha passes it. Lok Sabha can introduce both regular and monetary bills. For joint sessions of both parliaments, Lok Sabha’s will takes precedence.

2. Finance

In the financial arena, Lok Sabha’s power is the best and the ultimate. Banknotes can only be presented at Lok Sabha. Once the money bill is approved by Lok Sabha, it is effectively enacted by Congress itself. Lok Sabha alone has the exclusive power to sanction all government spending.

3. Executive management

The President of India will give an annual speech at Lok Sabha, which includes next year’s government policy and can be discussed by members of Lok Sabha. If Lok Sabha makes a motion against him, the unconfident minister must resign. A “Question-Hour” is held daily during Lok Sabha’s sessions to get information from the government.

4. Constitution

All constitutional amendments must be passed by Lok Sabha. Otherwise, the fix will not take effect.

5. Correcting dissatisfaction

Members of Lok Sabha need to stay in touch with their members and draw the attention of people’s important issues and complaints to Lok Sabha’s notifications. These issues will be discussed on the House floor and a resolution may be passed for the government to take action.

6. Other functions

In addition to the Lok Sabha permissions and features described above, Lok Sabha shares its permissions with Rajya Sabha in the following ways:

  1. Election of President and Vice President of India
  2. Impeachment of the president
  3. Dismissal of judges in the Supreme Court and the High Court
  4. Approve the declaration of emergency.

These powers and functions of Lok Sabha are exclusively drafted by the Constitution of the House of Representatives of Parliament.

You may also like