Goseeko blog

What are the powers of the President?

by Kusum Joshi

The Powers of the President are:

1. Execution right of the President :

Firstly all enforcement measures are taken in the name of the President. He also has the authority to appoint the Prime Minister, other Ministers of the Government of India, the Chief Attorney of India, the Director of the Accounting Auditor of India, the Judges of the Supreme Court, the Judges of the High Court and the Governor.

2. Legislative power:

i. The president is an integral part of the Indian Parliament. Therefore , he provokes or summons a parliamentary house, dissolve Lok Sabha, and summon a joint session of two parliaments if he gets stuck.

ii. He also agrees with all the bills passed by Congress and becomes law.

iii. He addresses the homes of either or both parliaments at the beginning of the first session of the House of Representatives after each general election and the first session of each year.

iv. In addition , he has the power to send a message to either Parliament, which must take that into account.

v. He has the authority to nominate up to 12 members to Rajya Sabha and no more than 2 members from the Anglo-Indian community to Lok Sabha.

3. Military power:

Further more the president is the commander-in-chief of the Wehrmacht. However, his exercise of power should be regulated by parliamentary law.

4. Judiciary:

However the President empowers to grant amnesty, grace, rest and punishment in the case of:

(a) court martial

(b) violations of laws developed under the Union and simultaneous listings

(c) death sentences increase.

He also appoints judges of the Supreme Court and the High Court through an integrated consultation process.

5. Diplomatic power:

As the highest constitutional official, the president appoints a foreign ambassador and welcomes foreign diplomatic representatives.

6. Financial power:

It is the president who puts the annual budget in front of the parliament. For instance, money bills can only be introduced by his prior recommendation.

7. Emergency power:

Above all , the President assigns three types of emergency authority under Articles 352, 356, and 360.

Interested in learning about similar topics? Here are a few hand-picked blogs for you!

What is Indian Constitution?

You may also like